articleshasem.blogg.se

Graphic novel sherlock holmes
Graphic novel sherlock holmes





  1. #Graphic novel sherlock holmes for free
  2. #Graphic novel sherlock holmes how to

#Graphic novel sherlock holmes how to

How to get the previous two books in the series:

#Graphic novel sherlock holmes for free

(Book 3) The Detective The Woman and The Silent Hive is available from all good bookstores including Amazon USA, Amazon UK, Waterstones UK, and for free shipping worldwide from Book Depository. All opinions expressed are the reviewer’s own. Scandal In Bohemia is available through all good bookstores including Book Depository (free shipping worldwide), Amazon USA, and Amazon UK.Ī copy of the above-reviewed work was provided by the publisher. As the holidays approach, this book would be a fantastic gift or stocking stuffer for any keen Sherlockian. The bottom line: This is one of the best graphic novels I’ve ever read, and it deserves the accolades it’s received. The Holmesian stories (not just “A Scandal in Bohemia,” but others as well) are told in a surprisingly complex and engaging way, proving that a medium many do not associate with Holmes can do more than justice to the material. At times, it’s humorous and charming, but ultimately, it furthers the story in a dynamic way, as it should. The artistic style is detailed, beautiful, and suited to the material. It’s an art form of its own, and when it works, it’s transcendent. A well-crafted graphic novel is not the same thing as a traditional book. I have seen graphic novels like that, and I do not appreciate them. Second, and most important to me as a reader, is that this isn’t just a retelling of Sherlock Holmes stories that someone slapped illustrations onto. I didn’t find it in any sense distracting. Had I not known it was a translation, I doubt I’d have realized it. Now that I have my hands on the English translation, I can absolutely understand why.įirst, the English translation is fully competent. My first exposure to this book was hearing that it had been voted Graphic Novel of the Year in 2013 in the Czech Republic for its original version.







Graphic novel sherlock holmes